h1

Where is the pride in being a conservative if you’re a racist?

November 27, 2008

I have been grappling with this whole concept of being a conservative but being a die hard racist?  I understand the intellectual side of conservatives with no problem.  But the conservatives that are racist have no reality or factual based thought.  They seem to cling to an old philosophy that has been long outdated and debunked.  They shroud their racism and hatred  via the word of God?  The fact that the Catholic church aid and abed them is just sicking.  The right wing nuts, I believe, scare straight conservatives and make them wonder if their philosophy is really sound.

The republicans picked Palin to give the right wing (and I am talking about the fringel) base an inspirational need to get out and vote.  I don’t think they fully thought through how hostile that sector of their group really is.  They are, first of all, ignorant to real facts and hung on Palin’s every word.  Which, in part, is why the party is currently splintered.

Hate is an ugly thing and as recent reports have noted all the fringe have come out of their caves to express just how ugly hate is.

In Standish, Maine, a sign in the Oak Hill General Store said, “Osama Obama Shotgun Pool.” Customers could sign up to bet $1 on a date when Obama would be killed. “Stabbing, shooting, roadside bombs, they all count,” the sign said.

Elementary students on a school bus in Rexburg, Idaho, chanted, “Assassinate Obama,” a district official said.

University of Alabama professor Marsha Houston said a poster of the Obama family was ripped off her office door. A replacement poster was defaced with a death threat and a racial slur, she said.

Alie Kamara, a black teen in New York, said that on election night he was attacked with a bat by four white men who shouted, “Obama.” Police said Saturday that two 18-year-old white men were arrested Friday. Ralph Nicoletti and Bryan Garaventa face charges of hate-crime assault and criminal possession of a weapon, police said.

This is not something new.  It was so well documented in the 60s and 70s.  I’m sure these people feel perfectly justified in expressing how the Black race have destroyed their lives.  Yet, I must interject that this is not all these ignorant people’s fault.  The republican party bares a good deal of the responsibility of what is going on with the fringe.  Back in the 60s to generate votes the republican party used the strategy of them against us.  You know the Southern strategy.  Much time was spent on leaving a perception that Black people (or any immigrant for that matter) were of the seedy element.  Remember when it was cool to demonize a race that had no real rights?

This philosophy has been carried throughout the ages since then.  That close to 70 million of us did not buy into the program of the demonetization of President Obama  is a feat to our having grown as a nation.  However that does not change the fact that there are several million from the 55+ million that voted for McCain still being die hard racist.  Once narrow minded, unintellectual curious, empty headed, racist, discriminatory, clinically unhinged, English language mangling, and wholly unqualified Palin was unleashed on the world hate was given a door to once again rear its ugly head in full force.

I could see myself agreeing with some of the conservative beliefs, but the hate turns me off.  I’m finding it very hard to reconcile being a conservative — which I am not — and being a racist as well.  Unless the conservatives are trapped in the 60s where racism was at its peak then I can not foresee them moving forward.  The southern strategy is dead and any conservative believing we as a nation will go back to conservative values that is inclusive of hate, divisiveness, bigotry and ugliness is only helping their party to become more obscure .

UPDATE:  This needs to be said.  I do not believe that all conservatives are racist.  But I do believe that racist are hiding behind (pretending) they are conservatives as an excuse to justify their racism.   I wrote this post to point out the origin of when the racist locked into the whole conservative concept.  However, I will note that the GOP’s practice of demonizing other races do not help the cause and only fuel the racist with reasons to stay the way they are; which by the way, will only stunt the growth of the republican party unless real conservatives cut this sector of the party loose.  We are in this economic melt down together and there is really no room for petty hatred.

Now Enough said.

5 comments

  1. […] Where is the pride in being a conservative if you’re a racist … The republican party bares a good deal of the responsibility of what is going on with the fringe. Back in the 60s to generate votes the republican party used the strategy of them against us. You know the Southern strategy. … […]


  2. You know Chamayo….I’ll be 60 yrs old next year and grew up in the 60s….I remember blacks riding in the back of the bus, using different bathrooms and eating at different parts of a resturant……I was young, but have vague memories of those things…..I remember the first black girl to come to our all white high school around 1965..At first no one wanted her because we felt like she was forcing herself on us…but then the first day she got upset and cried and we realized she was really being forced to come to our school and was uncomfortable also, which worked to her advantage because when we realized this we all came to her side and accepted her. For most the students in the school that was the end of the hard feelings that day. I’ve always been a conservative, but not a racist….my best and closest friends are black (I live in the south) and I don’t feel that being conservative and racist go together hand and hand…..I believe the racism part is from mostly from a more uneducated person being that way out of fear or ignorance or both. I think our conservative values come from our Christian heritage and your right unless we have another huge revivial in America we won’t go back to our conservative values of old which made America what is was.

    Over 150 years ago Alexis de Tocqueville came to America from France looking for the secret of its greatness. He wrote:
    I sought for the greatness and genius of America in her commodious harbors and her ample rivers — and it was not there … in her fertile fields and boundless forests — and it was not there … in her rich mines and her vast world commerce — and it was not there … in her democratic Congress and her matchless Constitution — and it was not there. Not until I went into the churches of America and heard her pulpits flame with righteous­ness did I understand the secret of her genius and power. America is great because she is good, and if America ever ceases to be good, America will cease to be great.

    Chamayo…I have read and enjoyed your writings since I’ve been on WordPress and this is the first time I’m made a comment here. I just couldn’t see how you equate conservatism with racism and still don’t…..guess it’s just a different perspective somewhere.

    Hope you have a great Thanksgiving Chamayo.


  3. I’m sorry. I am not talking about if you are conservative you are a racist. I’m talking about if you are a racist then I find it hard to believe you are a conservative. I have a lot of republican friends and they had to talk me down from some of what came out during the general election.

    Then it dawned on me, a conservative is not a racist. A racist is trying to hide behind conservative beliefs which only drags that view point down. I’m sure their are some liberal racist out there too. But I will make sure I update my post to reflect that I am not calling all conservatives racist because I do not believe that. Heck at one point (prior to having children) I was conservative.


  4. But with all due respect, in most circles of being a conservative today, it resembles being a Christian today. FOR THE MOST PART, they both have been hijacked by false doctrines and racism did flourish and was instigated in the last presidential campaign on the conservative or republican side. So, again where is the pride in being a conservative if your a racist????

    Racism keeps us divided when what is needed in the US today is for the citizens to pull together. There are some very big problems to solve.

    Your post was not confusing at all to me. “Where is the pride in being a conservative “if” you’re a racist?” Racism, is still a touchy subject…..


  5. You know one thing you’ll never hear liberals complain about is any other racism then white racism, which goes to show how one sided and prejudiced their own stereotype is.

    Ever considered the possibilities that they simply inflate racism just to divide and conquer the people? Easier to steal tax money from the people and give it to rich corporations when the majority of Americans are quarreling over the elusive topic of racism.

    It’s a topic that is incessantly pushed on us with little suggestion for recourse other then “affirmitive action” which in itself is merely reversed racism.

    Catholic church is racist? Funny how they shelter and advocate for illegal immigrants. I’d call it treasonous and aiding and abbetting not racist, at least not white racist which is all that anyone seems to cares about.



Leave a Reply

