h1

Thinking back…

December 21, 2008

I have a friend who is Belgian and she loves to tell me how every year she drives through America.  What’s funny is how she tries to warm me about the back roads and to be careful.  They have some real racist in those corners she tells me.

Wait..what?  I have no intention of knowing first hand just how racist America can really be.  I am not from the Bahamas but from here and have no intention of being a statistic.  I’m also a New Yorker and know damn well I could never play meek and be quite.

Unlike President Obama that has more faith than me, I could never invite a jerk like Rick Warren to anything, unless it concerned poison and death, preferably his.  Therefore, don’t look for me to ever offer candid shots from across America where I went on some discovery trip.

Don’t get me wrong, I do travel. I just don’t do so much traveling within my own country.  I’ve gone to places like California, San Francisco, Utah, New Orleans, Washington, etc., etc. in the United States.  Please notice, I tend to go to places that are not really located on the back roads and I make sure I get there via a damn plane thank you.

I love my country but I do not trust my country with my life.  There was a time I did in all my stupid arrogance believe that America took care of its own no matter where you were.  Stupidity, priceless.  Boy did Bush cure my dumbness.  In America, until the economy had a melt down, it was all about the dollar.  Who had wealth determined who America loved and would help.

I’m glad Bush’s time is over and the republicans are in disarray.  I think its time for the people who make up most of America to have their time to rule.  I don’t think of President Obama’s win as a democratic win.  I think of it in terms of the people’s win.  Who knows, maybe one day I will be able to travel the back road without fear.

Enough said.

One comment

  1. My vote for Obama was not a democratic vote either. I have not sold my soul to any political party. It strickly was for the message he stode up for. It is now time for us to support him and fight for the change that he has promised. He will need all the support he can get. He is already under fire and he hasn’t taken the office yet.



Leave a Reply

